//
you're reading...
Books, By Pasquale, Other Fandoms, Reviews, Stardust and Shadowhunters

Nothing is real – Teardrop Review

Teardrop by Lauren Kate

Spoiler-Free Review by Pasquale

imageLauren Kate is an internationally best-selling author of young adult fiction. With her books translated into over thirty different languages, Lauren Kate has toured the globe several times while prompting her books, staging events in England, Ireland, America, Brazil, Singapore and many other destinations. Best known for penning the Fallen series, she has also written The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove. Her newest book, Teardrop, was first published in October 2013, and is the first of her new series.

Teardrop is an epic saga of heart-stopping romance, devastating secrets, and dark magic; a world where everything you love can be washed away. At the heart of the story is a seventeen-year-old Eureka, who won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. Overwhelmed by grief after her mother was killed in a freak accident, there is very little that she cares about, until she unlocks an ancient tale of romance and heart-break beneath the waters of our oceans, and meets Ander.

I should probably point out beforehand that I am not the biggest fan of any of Lauren Kate’s work. I firmly believe that there’s more to a girl than finding that one special boy, and letting him be your knight in shining armour. I know that, yes, we women fall in love, but do we act so out of it that we never stop to question if the situation we are in is safe or not? Or why some guy that we are in love with is following us? No, we do not (though I’m sure that there are exceptions). In other words, I usually find myself very opposed to what Lauren Kate considers romance in her books. And Teardrop was no exception.

So, of course, my distaste stems from the main character. It doesn’t bother me that Eureka had tried to commit suicide beforehand. I understand her grief. I understand her reasons and sympathize with it. However, it did bother me when she finds nothing in her life worthwhile; not her friends, her old hobbies or her family . . . until she meets a boy. Personally, that makes me find Eureka bland. I understand her sullenness and grief, and I wanted her to grow from and beyond it. However, it seemed that Eureka gave up before she could even try.

teardrop-lauren-kate

And then there’s Ander, the love of Eureka’s life. I found it quite strange how Eureka didn’t say anything when he practically stole her teardrop. I know that it was somehow necessary, but did she say anything regarding it? Nope. I also think that it’s weird how she didn’t react when Ander slipped into her bedroom through her window at night. How she didn’t kick him out straight away, or even scream for help. I get a heart attack when the toaster pops, and yet, our protagonist simply stares as a big pair of black boots steps through her window. Did she call for help? No. Did she at least cower under her blankets? No. Did she react as any normal person would if someone jumped through their window at night, or even in the morning? Nope. Maybe Eureka was purposely written as an unresponsive character, or perhaps Lauren Kate is exaggerating her death wish, or maybe I’m just biased. Either way, I couldn’t wrap my head around Eureka, and why she didn’t try harder to find out why Ander was practically stalking her (which is the same train of thought I had while reading Twilight).

I think that the best part of the entire book was the fact that it could have been an amazing novel, due to the use of original and imaginative mythology of the lost city of Atlantis. However, it was diluted by the constant teen angsting and useless drama.

Teardrop is slightly more refreshing than your usual paranormal/science-fiction plots of vampires/werewolves/faeries etc., however, I didn’t enjoy this book. I’m not a fanatic about predominately romantic books – especially Lauren Kate’s. However, this is my own opinion.

I would rate it 5/10.

About vishusnephilim

21. Pittsburgh. Web developer, writer, artist, future sfx student, monster, fangirl. Milk in my coffee, sugar in my tea. I'm rather interesting, I've been told.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Join My Book Club!

  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

